Joffrey Ballet

In the Middle, Somewhat Elevated; Le Sacre du Printemps (The Rite of Spring 1913); Son of Chamber Symphony
Feb 2013
About the Event

Son of Chamber Symphony  (2012)
Choreography by Stanton Welch
Music by John Adams 

In the Middle, Somewhat Elevated  (1987)
Choreography by William Forsythe
Music by Thom Willems

Le Sacre du Printemps (The Rite of Spring)  (1913)
Choreography after Vaslav Nijinsky
Music by Igor Stravinsky

The U of M Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Mark Russell Smith, performs live for Son of Chamber Symphony and The Rite of Spring.

Ashley C. Wheater, Artistic Director

One of America’s leading ballet companies epitomizing the highest standard of classical training, Chicago-based Joffrey Ballet expresses a unique, inclusive perspective on dance, proudly reflecting the diversity of America. A treat for Minnesota audiences after recently seeing his new Indigo, a new work choreographed by Houston Ballet artistic director Stanton Welch will be seen in Minnesota. Originally created for the Paris Opera Ballet, In the Middle, Somewhat Elevated is a purely abstract work combining classical ballet lines with  an air of cool detachment in this contemporary masterpiece, with Willems’ intense electronic score cutting the air like thunder. Commemorating its 100th anniversary, The Rite of Spring’s (Le Sacre du Printemps) famously scandalous world premiere in Paris caused a riot and changed dance forever. Its outrageous costumes, audacious choreography, and Stravinsky’s musical innovations secured its place in history as monumental art still relevant today. Despite its inauspicious debut, Stravinsky’s score for The Rite of Spring today stands as a magnificent musical masterpiece of the  twentieth century, being used for choreography more than any other music.

*Learn more about the 100th anniversary of Rite of Spring in this New York Times article.

Tue, Feb 26, 6:15 – 7:00 pm, Solera Restaurant



Related Events