Northrop Dance Presents

New York City Ballet MOVES

Polyphonia, Duo Concertant, Zakouski, Hallelujah Junction
Oct 2012
About the Event

Polyphonia  (2001)
Choreography by Christopher Wheeldon
Music by György Ligeti*

Duo Concertant  (1972)
Choreography by George Balanchine
Music by Igor Stravinsky*

Herman Schmerman Pas de Deux  (1992)
Choreography by William Forsythe
Music by Thom Willems

Zakouski  (1992)
Choreography by Peter Martins
Music by Sergei Rachmaninoff, Igor Stravinsky,
Sergei Prokofiev, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky*

Hallelujah Junction  (2001)
Choreography by Peter Martins
Music by John Adams*

Peter Martins, Ballet Master in Chief

The world-renowned New York City Ballet returns after 28 years to open Northrop’s season with a spectacular repertoire. Under the leadership of venerable Ballet Master in Chief and former NYCB principal dancer Peter Martins, New York City Ballet MOVES is a rotating selection of principals, soloists, and members of the corps de ballet, with live music played primarily by musicians from the NYCB Orchestra. The program includes Wheeldon’s  fantastic Polyphonia, set to ten of Ligeti’s eclectic live piano pieces. Stravinsky’s Duo Concertant was a favorite of Balanchine’s, and this important work integrates piano and violin musicians with dancers mirroring the music and each other on stage. A rare study in pure dance, the intense Herman Schmerman is the second William Forsythe work commissioned by New York City Ballet. A ballet for two dancers set to violin and piano, Martins' popular Zakouski explores vernacular gesture and movement through the emotional terrain of the works composed by the titans of Russian music. The fevered Hallelujah Junction is Martins' signature virtuosic ballet showcasing the strengths of the New York City Ballet.

* Denotes live music

Tue & Wed, Oct 23 & 24, 6:15 – 7:00 pm, Solera Restaurant


Related Events