You can now purchase single tickets to ALL of Northrop’s 2021-22 Season events, along with flexible Choose Your Own season packages and group tickets.

Tony Award-winning choreographer, director, and dancer Bill T. Jones continues his longstanding relationship with Northrop and the Walker, presenting his hypnotic new work Afterwardsness. Performed by Jones’ entire company for an audience of 180 situated on the Northrop stage, Afterwardsness addresses the isolation and trauma of the twin pandemics of COVID-19 and on-going violence against Black bodies. The poignancy of the movement is underpinned by a live musical landscape featuring a new vocal composition by Holland Andrews, a violin solo for George Floyd entitled Homage by Pauline Kim Harris, as well as excerpts from Olivier Messaien’s harrowing war-time chamber composition Quartet for the End of Time.

Produced and commissioned by Park Avenue Armory. 

This event will be captioned, with other accessibility services available upon request.


“What they created was unexpected and vulnerable, more illuminating than a display of perfect form: A group synergy born from social distancing …. What does it capture? The spirit of time.” —The New York Times

"The music is live and largely elegiac, the dancing, virtuosic and mostly abstract though flecked with gestures of vulnerability, pain and anger" —The New York Times